2016 IH Section Awards Announced!

The following message is from Gopal Sankaran, chair of the Awards Committee. The other members of the Awards Committee are: Rose Schneider, Ray Martin, Omar Khan, Padmini Murthy, Curtiss Swezy, Malcolm Bryant, Elvira Beracochea, and Paul Freeman. The Committee encourages all to nominate a colleague or be willing to be nominated next year.

This year, we had a good pool of candidates for the various awards offered by our Section. The Awards Committee has selected the following colleagues active in international health to receive the awards for which they were nominated.

  • Carl Taylor Lifetime Achievement Award in International Health: Dr. Peter A. Berman
  • Mid-Career Achievement Award in International Health: Dr. Laura C. Parajon
  • Gordon-Wyon Award for Community-Oriented Public Health, Epidemiology and Practice: Dr. Mizan Siddiqi
  • Distinguished Section Service Award: Dr. Padmini Murthy

Please join me in congratulating our colleagues whose outstanding accomplishments in international health are being recognized by our Section this year. On behalf of the Awards Committee, I thank the nominators for nominating such excellent candidates and to the nominees for graciously accepting their nomination. The awards will be presented to the recipients at the International Health Section Awards Reception and Social on Tuesday, November 1, 2016, 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at the 144th APHA Annual Meeting in Denver, Colorado. You are cordially invited to participate in this event.

One thought on “2016 IH Section Awards Announced!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.