2017 APHA International Health Section Election Results

Posted on behalf of Laura Altobelli, Chair, International Health Section

Many thanks to all of you who participated in the online voting for our new IH Section leadership representatives who will be taking office at the end of the APHA Annual Meeting in November 2017.

The results are:

International Health – Governing Council (Elected for a two-year term):
Ramin Asgary, MD, MPH

International Health – Secretary-Elect (Elected for a two-year term, followed by a two-year term as Secretary):
Laura Arntson, PhD, MPH

International Health – Section Council (Elected for a three-year term):
Jean Armas, MPH
Mark Strand, PhD, MPH

International Health – Student Assembly Liaison (Elected for a one-year term):
Michelle Hammet (Rochat), MPH(c)

Congratulations to Ramin, Laura, Jean, Mark, and Michelle!

Many special thanks to Dr. Amy Hagopian, Chair of the IH Nominations Committee, for all her work to prepare slates of good candidates and to manage the election process for the section!

Congratulations to the 2017 APHA International Health Section Award Winners!

Posted on behalf of Gopal Sankaran, Chair of the IH Awards Committee

This year, we had a good pool of candidates for the various awards offered by our Section. The Awards Committee has selected the following colleagues active in international health to receive the awards for which they were nominated.

1. Carl Taylor Lifetime Achievement Award in International Health — Dr. Abdullah H. Baqui

2. Mid-Career Achievement Award in International Health — Dr. Dabney P. Evans

3. Gordon-Wyon Award for Community-Oriented Public Health, Epidemiology and Practice – Dr.  Laura C. Altobelli

4. Distinguished Section Service Award – Ms. Theresa Majeski

Please join me in congratulating our colleagues whose outstanding accomplishments in international health are being recognized by our Section this year.

The awards will be presented to the recipients at the International Health Section Awards Reception and Social on Tuesday, November 7, 2017, 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at the 145th APHA Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia. You are cordially invited to participate in this event.  The venue for the event will be communicated later.

On behalf of the Awards Committee, I thank the nominators for nominating such excellent candidates and to the nominees for graciously accepting their nomination.

The members of the Awards Committee are: Rose Schneider, Ray Martin, Omar Khan, Padmini Murthy, Laura Altobelli, Curtiss Swezy, Malcolm Bryant, Elvira Beracochea, Paul Freeman and Gopal Sankaran.  I thank the members for their diligent work.

The Committee encourages all to nominate a colleague and/or be willing to be nominated next year.

Call for applications for 2018 Public Health Fellow in Government

APHA has put out a call for applications for the 2018 Public Health Fellowship in Government. APHA is looking for candidates with strong public health credentials who wish to spend one year in Washington, D.C., working in a Congressional office (either the House or the Senate). The fellow will have the opportunity to see first hand how public policy impacts public health and to offer their public health expertise to policymakers. Fellows will have the option of serving on the personal staff of a member of Congress or a congressional committee, working on legislative and policy issues such as creating healthy communities, improving health equity, addressing environmental health concerns, population health or the social determinants of health.

Training for the fellowship will begin in January 2018 so you must be able to move to the Washington, D.C., area. The fellowship is open to all APHA members who are public health professionals including state and local health department staff, medical, nurse or public health practitioners, nongovernmental agency staff and teachers/researchers/academics who have a demonstrated interest and ability in policy. Federal employees are not eligible for this fellowship. All candidates must have a master’s degree or a doctorate (or equivalent) in public health or related discipline. In addition, all candidates must be U.S. citizens or a permanent residents. All candidates must have five years or more of professional experience in a public health setting. Internships, graduate assistantships and residencies do not count toward the five year requirement.

Fellows receive a stipend of $70,000 for the year, and an additional $10,000 is available for travel and other related costs (including moving costs and the costs of attending the APHA Annual Meeting).

Applications, additional information and brief articles from the previous fellows are available at https://www.apha.org/fellowship. The application, including a CV and three letters of recommendation, is due to APHA by August 14, 2017. For more information, contact aphafellowship@apha.org or call 202-777-2510.

IHSC Career Development webinar recording now available

The Career Development team of the IHSC is pleased to share with you the recording for their most recent webinar held on Tuesday, June 27, 2017.

Kristen Stafford, PhD, MPH, Assistant Professor at the University of Maryland Baltimore and Sara Shuman, PhD, MPH, Assistant Professor, La Salle University and Director of Promontoras, Puentes de Salud in Philadelphia discussed their experiences in resource-limited settings in a program entitled, From Implementing PEPFAR Programs in Africa to Intimate Partner Violence Prevention in Mexico – Two Paths to Becoming a Global Health Professional.

If you have any questions, please email: apha.ihsc.careers@gmail.com

The 4th issue of Section Connection, our quarterly e-newsletter, is now available!

The latest issue of Section Connection, the IH Section quarterly e-newsletter, is now available! In this issue you’ll find information on the work the IH section has been doing to advance global health and profiles on a few of our leadership and section members.

You can find the fourth issue of the newsletter here: http://bit.ly/SectionConnection4

If you can’t access the newsletter for any reason please email Theresa Majeski, Global Health Connections Chair, at theresa.majeski@gmail.com.

Happy 4th of July!