Congratulations to the 2017 APHA International Health Section Award Winners!

Posted on behalf of Gopal Sankaran, Chair of the IH Awards Committee

This year, we had a good pool of candidates for the various awards offered by our Section. The Awards Committee has selected the following colleagues active in international health to receive the awards for which they were nominated.

1. Carl Taylor Lifetime Achievement Award in International Health — Dr. Abdullah H. Baqui

2. Mid-Career Achievement Award in International Health — Dr. Dabney P. Evans

3. Gordon-Wyon Award for Community-Oriented Public Health, Epidemiology and Practice – Dr.  Laura C. Altobelli

4. Distinguished Section Service Award – Ms. Theresa Majeski

Please join me in congratulating our colleagues whose outstanding accomplishments in international health are being recognized by our Section this year.

The awards will be presented to the recipients at the International Health Section Awards Reception and Social on Tuesday, November 7, 2017, 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at the 145th APHA Annual Meeting in Atlanta, Georgia. You are cordially invited to participate in this event.  The venue for the event will be communicated later.

On behalf of the Awards Committee, I thank the nominators for nominating such excellent candidates and to the nominees for graciously accepting their nomination.

The members of the Awards Committee are: Rose Schneider, Ray Martin, Omar Khan, Padmini Murthy, Laura Altobelli, Curtiss Swezy, Malcolm Bryant, Elvira Beracochea, Paul Freeman and Gopal Sankaran.  I thank the members for their diligent work.

The Committee encourages all to nominate a colleague and/or be willing to be nominated next year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.