Congratulations to the 2020 APHA International Health Section Award Winners!

This year, we had a good pool of candidates for the various awards offered by our Section. Congratulations to our colleagues whose outstanding accomplishments in international health are being recognized by our Section this year.

Carl Taylor Lifetime Achievement Award in International Health
Dr. Gopal Sankaran

Mid-Career Award in International Health
Mr. William Rosa

Gordon-Wyon Award for Community-Oriented Public Health, Epidemiology and Practice
Dr. Paul Freeman

Young Professional Award
Ms. Jessica Keralis

Distinguished Section Service Award
Ms. Laura Arntson

The Awards Committee encourages all to nominate a colleague and/or be willing to be nominated next year. To find out more information about nominating a colleague or to view a list of past award winners, please visit the IH Section’s Awards webpage.

We would also like to congratulate this year’s top-scoring Early Career Professional abstracts:

Mara Howard-Williams: Policy precedes law: A legal epidemiology study of mental health and international human rights law

Hannah Stewart: Impact of natural disasters on mental health outcomes of first responders in central Myanmar

Qing Xu: Content analysis of Chinese-language social media user-generated expression of uncertainty during the covid-19 outbreak on weibo

Every year the IH section awards $500 scholarships to top scoring abstracts submitted by IH Early Career Professionals. Don’t forget to submit your abstract to next year’s meeting in Denver!

Missed the awards ceremony? Re-watch the ceremony here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.